The Lucky Blackout Surprise

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Being from the Boston area and having a dash of Irish blood in me, it’s kind of impossible not to celebrate St. Patty’s Day. I opted to celebrate with a traditional Irish cocktail. The Irish Car Bomb. My friend suggested this blackout catalyst a few weeks ago and I jumped all over the idea. I’ve worked with Bailey’s twice now and have been wanting to experiment with beer so this seemed like the gold at the end of the rainbow.

Guinness Mug Shot

An Irish Car bomb is a shot of Jameson Whiskey mixed with Bailey’s then dropped in a glass of Guinness. I’ve actually never done one to my knowledge but then again knowing me I could have and not remembered? What?  When I looked at recipes I found many recipes for Guinness ice cream which my friend made a few years ago (the same creative baking friend/original owner of my ice cream machine). It was VERY good and wasn’t too strong. I found some recipes for Irish Car Bomb ice cream but they didn’t really do it for me. One recipe even called for 16 egg yolks which made my computer monitor fat.

I kind of went nuts on this one and mixed more ingredients than I ever have.  Usually I stick to a few basics but for this leprechaun I wanted it to be a pot of gold of flavors. I stuck to the three libations: Guinness, Bailey’s and whiskey but then added some surprises.  Like a typical Irish poem, I’ll keep it real, I’ll expose my secrets. A tablespoon of Nutella and a dash of honey. WHAAAATTTTTTTT.

This ice cream is richer than Bill Gates and smoother than Lionel Richie. HANDS. DOWN. This sucker is so thick that when I tried to dye it green, the mixture devoured the food coloring like an appetizer at TGIFridays. I felt like it laughed at my attempt to be festive. [sigh.] So needless to say the color is still brown.

7 thoughts on “The Lucky Blackout Surprise

  1. “This ice cream is richer than Bill Gates and smoother than Lionel Richie.” = best line about ice cream ever written.

    Don’t dye it green. I am morally opposed to food items dyed green.

    Also, I could have sworn Johanna Miller would have instigated a round of irish car bombs in which you would have partaken, no?

    1. 🙂 thank you! Johanna probably did arrange a round..however you know me and my lack of interest in shots. You might have taken it for me and yelled at people on the drunk bus.

  2. 😐 I haven’t mailed the gel coloring yet, but it’s coming. It’ll change the color of anything, guaranteed.

Leave a comment