Ice Cream that high-fives your taste buds.

Benefit for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society

Speechless. The mother of all “Cat got your tongue”. This was an amazing experience. I made over 250 servings of ice cream for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s Man & Woman of the Year charity event. I could go into detail about all the setbacks I went through but I don’t even want to waste my mood on reliving those moments. Those learning experiences led me to this euphoric mood that I am currently in so I’ll take those any day. When it’s all said and done this was one of the coolest (pun intended…NOT) experiences I have had in a long time. It was a great challenge and something new that I was eager to do.

It started when my friend texted me about 3 weeks ago with something like this, “Adam has hookup at an event, want to make ice cream for 200-400 people?” Me: “UMMMMMMMMMMM YES.” Next came a montage of planning, purchasing, and making.

The Ingredients

I made three flavors: Oh My Darling Clementine: (clementine and vanilla bean sorbet), Plain Jane Vanilla Bean, and Drunken Girl Scout (Bailey’s with homemade thin mint cookies). These are some of my favorite flavors  but I also thought they made sense, one dairy-free, one plain, and one with extra flavor.  I pretty much mimicked the recipes on how I made them before however I did modify the Clementine recipe some to make it more fruity and less sugary, so needless to say I went through many pounds of clementines and hope to not peel another one for at least 6 months.

This time around, I made homemade thin mint cookies for The Drunken Girl Scout for two reasons. #1 I didn’t have any thin mints left and #2 I wanted everything to be homemade. Maybe it’s a control thing but I felt better knowing I made the cookies vs. store bought.

Official vs. Homemade Thin Mints

My thin mints weren’t as crumbly as the official ones, they were more like a crumbly brownie. I also threw in some homemade mint extract which I was a huge fan of and plan on using not just in ice cream but also for tea.

I made a total of 21 quarts of ice cream which is a little over 5 gallons. Here’s a peek of what my freezer looked like:

Freezer Face

The feedback I got back was way beyond my expectations, people really enjoyed it and even asked where they could buy some. I was ridiculously flattered by the whole experience and even gave a local restaurant 3 quarts in hopes of partnering  with some flavors and distribution. (!!!!!!)

One of my favorite stories from the event was when an older lady approached the table and the following took place:

"Let me do it!"

Lady: I want the one with the nuts.
Me: Oh actually those are cookie pieces.
Lady: Yeah I want the one with the nuts.
Me: Umm well I think you mean with the cookie pieces?
Lady: Yeah nuts.
Me: Ok well it’s a little frozen right now, why don’t you try another flavor or come back in about 10 minutes.
Lady: Let me do it!
Me: Go for it!

Here is a lil collage of images from the event!

Special thanks to my friends Jeannine and Mark for helping me scoop, couldn’t have done this without you guys!!

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Do you have a recipe for citrus green tea ice cream? | Tea

    • I’ve never made a citrus green tea but I have made plain green tea. My suggestion is to try making a normal green tea ice cream base with matcha powder. If you are using eggs, wait until the mixture has coated your spoon and turn off the heat and remove it from the burner. Add a teaspoon or either citrus oil or freshly squeezed clementine juice. Try it to see if has met your level of citrus flavor, add more if you want to. Green tea powder has a very strong flavor on its own so you might need more to get the citrus taste to come in. Good luck!

      May 29, 2010 at 8:06 pm

  2. You gotta see this…helping the world one scoop at a time. Rwanda gets its first ice cream shop. http://gothamist.com/2010/05/28/blue_marble_to_open_rwandas_first_i.php

    May 31, 2010 at 5:34 pm

  3. Wow!! That is an amazing story…like.a.lot. Thanks for sharing.

    June 1, 2010 at 10:17 am

Leave a Reply

