Ice Cream that high-fives your taste buds.

Lemon Lime Vanilla Sorbeam

Sorbeam? Huh? This is an experiment I’ve wanted to try for quite some time, and involves layering ice cream flavors. It’s different than a swirl (at least that’s my vision). For this experiment I wanted to see what would happen when you layer ice cream with sorbet. So literally one layer would be vanilla bean ice cream, then on top of that would be a layer of lemon lime sorbet. I was curious to see and taste how the different textures would blend with one another. The culprits:

Lemon Mugshot

Lime Mugshot

So I made the batches and let them freeze just a bit so they would still spread easily but not blend with one another upon their first date. I had the intent of freezing the sorbeam in a rectangle or square pan and serving it like a piece of cake because I didn’t want the layers to swirl when I scooped it (or did I?).  The result:

Lemon Lime Sorbeam

The lemons were a bit too sour for my taste but overall I liked the presentation and probably will mess with something like this again. I also think the sorbet was too icy which threw off the texture battle. Next time: Creamy raspberry sorbet with vanilla beam.

Leave a Reply

