Ice Cream that high-fives your taste buds.

Cocomango Resort

I hate “sitting” in the sun and cooking in its Weber grill of ultraviolet rays so with that, I’m not really a “beach person.”   That all changed with this flavor, it was like an edible beach resort minus the tacky shirts.

Coconut Mugshot

Coconut is refreshing, cool, unique, complex and with street cred like this it was time to play around with it. My goal was for the flavor to not taste like sunscreen and while I poked around looking at recipes, I looked to the all mighty David Lebovitz for his take. I tweaked it slightly as I didn’t want to toast the coconut, because I don’t really like toasted flavor things.  I ended up blending cream, sugar,  milk and one cup sweetened coconut flakes in a pot and let that warm for a little bit then infuse for about an hour. I drained the coconut shreds and added one more cup of cream and let that warm again while I prepared two tbsp of corn starch. I’m still on this corn starch kick because I love how it doesn’t affect the flavor of the base whereas egg yolks (depending on the flavor of the ice cream can affect the flavor.)

For me coconut is a wing man, a Robin, a Ben Affleck, I get bored with its flavor when its by itself so I paired it with the Matt Damon of fruits, the Mango.  Sturdy, independent, wonderful and talented are all traits I see in the mango so I made a really small batch of sorbet and swirled it in.

Mango Mugshot

The coconut dominated, but the mango was there to be supportive on coconut’s quest to transform your mouth from a sandy hot dessert to a cool, breezy beach resort.  The texture was soft and cloud-like, extremely easy to scoop and very creamy. Who needs a sunburn from sitting in the sun when you scoop out a couple dollops of edible aloe?

Cocomango Resort

Leave a Reply

