Ice Cream that high-fives your taste buds.

Cool Kid Peppermint

This flavor is so cool it makes hipsters jealous. All it needs is a pair of skinny jeans, straight bangs and an American Apparel t-shirt and this thing is official.

hipster ice cream

I’m getting ahead of myself. I made this flavor for a friend’s birthday party per his request. I had these wonderful broken pieces of candy cane bits  and finally put them to good use.

candy cane mugshot

For the base I used a good helping of peppermint schnapps for two reasons:

  1. Flavor:  I didn’t think the bits would be enough, I wanted the base to really taste like peppermint on its own.
  2. Creamy Factor: Alcohol doesn’t freeze and is a great additive to ice cream and sorbets because it keeps ice cream from fully freezing. I didn’t use any egg yolks or corn starch on this cool kid because of the alcohol and like a good fake ID it did the trick.

The consistency was creamy, a little sticky, but everything stuck together like a cool clique hanging out by lockers. The candy cane bits were a nice refresher at the end and gave it a nice crunch. I really enjoyed this cool flavor and it was a nice accompaniment to a chocolate cupcake which was served all together at the party.

Peppermint Ice Cream

I would adore nomming this on a cold winter night, with snow falling in the background but I’m cool with eating it on any given breezy San Francisco night.

Cool Kid

 

3 responses

  1. This ice cream looks delicious. I love peppermint ice cream.

    I’d love for you to submit one of your beautiful photos, and a link to your post, to my new food photo gallery showcasing beautiful baking and desserts.

    October 24, 2010 at 3:54 am

    • Thanks for checking out my blog! I’ll submit some photos!

      October 24, 2010 at 10:54 am

  2. This was so refreshing. What a treat. I’d love to drop a scoop into a cup of hot chocolate.

    December 6, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Leave a Reply

